The COVID world is still very much controlling our lives despite the rollout of two vaccines. The CDC stated that you shouldn’t travel over the holidays. You should just stay home and we are fine with that especially after hearing about a new more contagious strain of the COVID virus on the loose in England. You also might have some problems if you are traveling out of state too.
If you are traveling to California as of December 3 to curb the fast-moving spread of COVID-19. In it, a crucial clause specifies that “no hotel or lodging entity in California shall accept or honor out of state reservations for non-essential travel,” unless the reservation is made for a stay of at least 14 days, during which guests will quarantine in their accommodations.
If you are entering Connecticut from one of several states on watch list for having high COVID numbers you must fill out a Connecticut Travel Health Form upon arrival. Failure to submit the form or to complete quarantine could result in a civil penalty of $500 per violation.
Illinois has you quarantining for 10 days if you are entering from any State in the union unless you have a negative COVID test less than 72 hours old.
Visitors entering from states that are noncontiguous with New York must quarantine for 14 days. You can “test out” of the quarantine if you have a negative test within 72 hours that were taken at your point of origin. You must then quarantine for 3 days upon arrival and then take another COVID test. If you are negative for the virus you may leave quarantine. You must also complete a Traveler Health Form. If you leave the airport without completing the form you are subject to a $10,000 fine. If you are entering via a train or automobile you must fill out the form online.
We recommend that with each state having its own particular rules you check their website in order to see what rules apply to you.